Unlocking the Odds: Betting on New Zealand's Cricket World Cup Journey

New Zealand's Cricket World Cup Journey: A Quest for Glory

In the past two ICC Cricket World Cups, New Zealand reached the finals. They were denied the championship by Australia in the 2015 World Cup and by England in 2019. Apart from these two finals, New Zealand has also made it to the semi-finals in 6 out of the 12 editions of the One Day International (ODI) World Cup they've played so far but has yet to clinch the title. It was the Kiwi team that eliminated India in the semi-finals of the 2019 World Cup.

Only Twice Eliminated in the Group Stage

From the inaugural Men's ODI World Cup in 1975 until 2019, New Zealand has been eliminated in the group stage only twice. The first instance was in 1983 when the Indian team became champions for the first time. Then, in the following season in 1987, the Kiwi team faced group-stage elimination once again.

Semi-Finalists from the Early Editions

New Zealand secured a spot in the semi-finals in both of the early editions of the World Cup in 1975 and 1979. Afterward, the team reached the semi-finals again in the 1992 World Cup. In the 1999 edition, the Kiwi team once more played in the semi-finals. Following this, the team consistently reached the semi-finals in the 2007 and 2011 editions. In this manner, New Zealand reached the semi-finals a total of 6 times out of 12 World Cup editions.

Missed Golden Opportunities in the Last Four Seasons

In the past four seasons, namely, 2007, 2011, 2015, and 2019 World Cups, New Zealand missed golden opportunities to win the championship. They secured a place in the semi-finals in 2007 and 2011, and then in the 2015 and 2019 editions, the Kiwi team managed to reach the finals on both occasions but ended up as runners-up.

New Zealand's Journey in the World Cup from 1975 to 2019

1975 - Semi-finalist

1979 - Semi-finalist

1983 - Group Stage

1987 - Group Stage

1992 - Semi-finalist

1996 - Quarter-finalist

1999 - Semi-finalist

2003 - Super 6

2007 - Semi-finalist

2011 - Semi-finalist

2015 - Runner-up

2019 - Runner-up.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post